Instant gratification…who came up with this and why is it such an integral part of being human?  We want something and we want it NOW.    A phenomenon which intrigues many highly qualified people and the subject of quite a few theses I imagine.  In one of the many university subjects I was not all that good in, we were taught that if you have to incur a loss or an expense, you want to postpone it as long as possible.  The flip side being off course is, that if there is a profit to be made, you want to realise it as quickly as possible.  Lesson learnt?  The good stuff we want NOW, the bad stuff, we don’t want at all but if we have to, anytime but just NOT now.  Sounds a bit like a child’s argument.  That is perhaps the crux of the matter.  Even though we are such extraordinary beings whom themselves cannot begin to comprehend their potential, we are also very close to being quite childish.  We declare war when we cannot have what we want and we tell lies when we are afraid of the truth.  Not exactly the sort of thing you expect from the top of the food chain.

At work we are treated to filter coffee, but only in the morning.  The rest of the day we have to rely on the instant variety to keep the juices flowing.  So I’ve come to enjoy this luxury when arriving at work, but then soon after the first cup, I’ll have another one.  Not because I want another one at that point but simply because I know it’s not going to be there the next time I’m in the mood for coffee.   That is wrong in so many ways.

We love to see the movie rather than read the book it was based on.  Reading just takes too long…

Watching TV series are a great pastime, but is it enough to watch one or two episodes?  No, you (and with “you”, I mean “I”) string 4 or 5 together and within the blink of an eye you’ve watched the whole season. And then you are back to square one, having to wait for the release of the next season.  And this is where the problem with instant gratification lies in my opinion.  It almost never brings the satisfaction
you’ve hoped for.  It’s bittersweet because even though you’ve enjoyed whatever it was, the end of it sometimes comes with a bit of remorse…why did I have to have it now?  Why couldn’t I have just waited?  It’s actually an anti-climax.

I guess in the type of society we live in today, where survival is almost depended on instant gratification, we can’t really blame anyone for the situation on hand. I do sometimes find myself missing the times when everything just moved slower.  Basically back in the day when horse drawn carts were king and “the only way to stay in touch was letter in the mail” (Thanks, Sandi Thom). Granted it was a time before I was born but still…

